Indian Summer/Rainy Days Reading List


coffeebooksrain

Nothing makes me happier than reading a great book on a rainy day. I’m getting ready to move back to the Pacific Northwest and can’t wait to catch up on my rainy day reading. Here are the books waiting eagerly by my bed.
A Theory of Fun for Game Design
A Theory of Fun for Game Design by Raph Koster. A classic mixed media treatise on the effectiveness and potential of games.

Uncertainty in Games


Uncertainty in Games
 by Greg Costikyan. I’m curious about the use of novelty, change, and surprise  in interactive design.

The Girl from HOPPERS

The Girl From H.O.P.P.E.R.S. (Love and Rockets volume 2) by Jaime Hernandez. Graphic novel.I love the Love and Rockets series so freaking much.

100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know


100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know About People
 by Susan Weinschenk. Chosen because the success of my work depends on its interpretation.

The Cosmic Serpent

The Cosmic Serpent: DNA and the Origins of Knowledge by Jeremy Narby. I could go on and on about this… Anyone out there read Sophie’s World?

Third-Party JavaScript

Third-Party JavaScript by Ben Vinegar. If you ask me, all JavaScript’s a party. Seriously I really enjoy it.

Predatory Thinking


Predatory Thinking
 by Dave Trott. The bloodthirsty bunny on the cover says it all.

Enchantment

Enchantment by Guy Kawasaki. My secret to everything, reason for working hard at anything.

What’s on your reading list?

Leave a Reply

